All Summer Long
All Summer Long

List Price:

$25.34
School Discount
Price:

$17.74
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$17.39
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$17.21
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$17.03
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$16.68

Series: Eagle Rock Series Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Thirteen-year-old Bina faces her first summer without her best friend, Austin, who has left for soccer camp.
Catalog Number: #180860
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Graphic Novel Graphic Novel
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 170 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-374-31071-8 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-4183-4
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-374-31071-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-4183-5
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017956974
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Bina and Austin have been best friends since they were babies, but the summer before eighth grade, things start to get weird. First, Austin's leaving for a month-long soccer camp; then, he thinks their annual "summer fun index" is dumb; and worst of all, he barely acknowledges her texts while he's at camp. But Bina finds plenty to occupy herself, and with Austin away, she can focus even more on music. Larson (Compass South, 2016) perfectly captures the anxiety and relief that sometimes accompanies changing childhood friendships na is hurt that Austin isn't as interested in the things they used to do together, but she seems just as happy to find her own path while he's gone. With bold, black outlines and a sunny yellow palette, Larson's figures have wonderfully expressive faces e's particularly good at signaling emotion with eyes and shoulders. Readers who love Raina Telgemeier's Smile (2010) but are still a bit too young for Jillian and Mariko Tamaki's This One Summer (2014) will find plenty to like here.
Horn Book
In this sensitive coming-of-age graphic novel, Bina's BFF/next-door neighbor Austin is away at soccer camp (and ignoring her texts) the summer before eighth grade. Bored, impressionable, guitar-playing Bina starts hanging out with Austin's older sister, who shares her love of music, and she's pushed outside her comfort zone (e.g., babysitting, boys). A monochromatic palette with sunny oranges plus unobtrusive panels and lettering allow Larson's believable dialogue to shine.
Publishers Weekly
About-to-be-eighth-graders Bina and Austin have been friends ever since they can remember, but now Austin is at soccer camp, posting bro pics on social media and ignoring Bina-s texts. Austin-s intimidating, sardonic older sister, Charlie, is stuck at home with a broken arm and seems willing to hang out-unless the boy she likes shows up. When Charlie shows a nasty side and Austin continues to cold-shoulder Bina even after he gets back, Bina struggles, though warm words and sweet gestures from friends and family help her through. Most crucial is the portrait that Larson (Mercury) draws of Bina as a guitarist and songwriter, a musician whose deepest fulfillment comes from within herself. -Lots of people spend forever looking for something they care about. Sometimes they never find it,- Bina-s older brother Davey tells her, -but you already have.- Larson-s graphic novel zeroes in on conversational encounters, with dialogue that-s fresh and funny (-You-re a stone-cold psycho and I kinda admire that,- Charlie tells Bina when they begin to hang out), and her close-up drawings of expressive faces add intimacy to the interchanges she captures. Ages 10-12. (May)
School Library Journal
Gr 58 It's a summer of changes for 13-year-old Bina. Her best friend Austin is off to soccer camp, her oldest brother and his husband are adopting a baby, and nobody has time for Bina. An aspiring guitarist, she takes solace in music; it grounds her when she feels adrift. Over the course of long weeks filled with babysitting, mini-golf, concerts, and family, Bina experiences a full range of emotions as feelings are easily hurt, moods are topsy-turvy, and friendships are formed, broken, and reshaped in different ways. This sensitive, relatable graphic novel explores many familiar touchstones of adolescence as Bina seeks her place in the world. Constantly looking up to the older, more accomplished people in her life, Bina finds it hugely satisfying when she realizes that she, too, has something to offer. A limited palette keeps the focus on the story and character development, and Larson's expressive drawings add to the emotional resonance of the teen's journey to self-discovery. VERDICT Fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile and Shannon Hale's Real Friends will eagerly embrace this work. A charming addition to any graphic novel collection. Allison Tran, Mission Viejo Library, CA
Word Count: 7,680
Reading Level: 2.4
Interest Level: 5-9
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 2.4 / points: 1.0 / quiz: 196103 / grade: Middle Grades
Lexile: GN250L

Thirteen-year-old Bina has a long summer ahead of her. She and her best friend, Austin, usually do everything together, but he's off to soccer camp for a month, and he's been acting kind of weird lately anyway. So it's up to Bina to see how much fun she can have on her own. At first it's a lot of guitar playing, boredom, and bad TV, but things look up when she finds an unlikely companion in Austin's older sister, who enjoys music just as much as Bina. But then Austin comes home from camp, and he's acting even weirder than when he left. How Bina and Austin rise above their growing pains and reestablish their friendship and respect for their differences makes for a touching and funny coming-of-age story.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.