Sherwood
Sherwood
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: A gender-bending, romantic retelling of the Robin Hood legend finds Maid Marian stepping into a late Lord of Locksley's shoes to protect the town's oppressed citizens from the Sheriff of Nottingham, an effort complicated by an unwanted marriage proposal from Guy of Gisborne.
Catalog Number: #173322
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
No other formats available
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 467 pages
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: 0-06-242231-6
ISBN 13: 978-0-06-242231-6
Dewey: Fic
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Subject Heading:
Middle Ages. Fiction.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Lady Marian's future is clear. When Robin of Locksley, her childhood love, returns from the Crusades, they will wed; Robin, who understands her fierce independence, will never force her to become something she isn't. But then Robin dies in the Holy Land. Marian's grief is interrupted only by Guy of Gisborne, the long arm of the sheriff of Nottingham, who's poised to take over Locksley now that Robin is gone, and he is determined to wed Marian as well. As she dodges his attentions, her eyes are opened to the realities of Nottingham's poor, and, disguising herself with Robin's cloak, she sets out to right injustices. And if people think she's Robin's ghost come back to save them, then who is she to argue? Robin Hood purists may be surprised by a new romance, but this is a lively adventure featuring a lionhearted heroine. Those intrigued by the original legend will be fascinated, but this has plenty of appeal for readers of A. C. Gaughen's Scarlet (2012) and Tamora Pierce's Protector of the Small quartet.
Kirkus Reviews
A new hero dons the iconic green cloak in this retelling of Robin Hood's tale.Young Lady Marian of Edwinstowe is not a typical damsel in distress. Long betrothed to Robin of Locksley, Marian relishes freedom more than future romance, prizing horseback riding, archery, and Sherwood Forest over feminine, domestic pursuits. But when Robin falls to stock-character Saracens in the Crusades, Marian is nevertheless devastated and wonders how to protect Robin's people, Locksley villagers and outlaws alike. Haunted/guided by Robin—or an idealized version of him—Marian uses her noble station, tall stature, and unparalleled archery skills to become Robin Hood. The requisite (albeit not-so-) Merry Men, daring heists, and archery contest follow, all retold with feminist and egalitarian undercurrents. Secondary character Guy of Gisborne—black-clad, scarred, seemingly sinister and servile—surpasses his traditional toady role and evolves to become a suitable foil to feisty Marian. Spooner (Hunted, 2017, etc.) grounds Marian's adventures with rich historical details and offers a flawed, fervent heroine whose revolutionary desires and short-term schemes encounter brutal medieval realities like war, death, taxes, and the inherent chauvinism of chivalry. All characters are assumed white.Steeped in tradition but infused with feminism and political concerns, a Robin Hood for a new audience. (Historical fiction. 12-18)
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist (2/1/19)
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Kirkus Reviews
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 7-12

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.