Sherwood
Sherwood
$15.29
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: This gender-bending, romantic retelling of the Robin Hood legend finds Maid Marian stepping into the late Locksley's shoes to protect a town from the Sheriff of Nottingham, an effort complicated by an unwanted marriage proposal.
Catalog Number: #173322
Format: Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2019
Edition Date: 2019
Pages: 467 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: 0-06-242231-6
ISBN 13: 978-0-06-242231-6
Dewey: Fic
Dimensions: 22 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Lady Marian's future is clear. When Robin of Locksley, her childhood love, returns from the Crusades, they will wed; Robin, who understands her fierce independence, will never force her to become something she isn't. But then Robin dies in the Holy Land. Marian's grief is interrupted only by Guy of Gisborne, the long arm of the sheriff of Nottingham, who's poised to take over Locksley now that Robin is gone, and he is determined to wed Marian as well. As she dodges his attentions, her eyes are opened to the realities of Nottingham's poor, and, disguising herself with Robin's cloak, she sets out to right injustices. And if people think she's Robin's ghost come back to save them, then who is she to argue? Robin Hood purists may be surprised by a new romance, but this is a lively adventure featuring a lionhearted heroine. Those intrigued by the original legend will be fascinated, but this has plenty of appeal for readers of A. C. Gaughen's Scarlet (2012) and Tamora Pierce's Protector of the Small quartet.
Kirkus Reviews
A new hero dons the iconic green cloak in this retelling of Robin Hood's tale.Young Lady Marian of Edwinstowe is not a typical damsel in distress. Long betrothed to Robin of Locksley, Marian relishes freedom more than future romance, prizing horseback riding, archery, and Sherwood Forest over feminine, domestic pursuits. But when Robin falls to stock-character Saracens in the Crusades, Marian is nevertheless devastated and wonders how to protect Robin's people, Locksley villagers and outlaws alike. Haunted/guided by Robin—or an idealized version of him—Marian uses her noble station, tall stature, and unparalleled archery skills to become Robin Hood. The requisite (albeit not-so-) Merry Men, daring heists, and archery contest follow, all retold with feminist and egalitarian undercurrents. Secondary character Guy of Gisborne—black-clad, scarred, seemingly sinister and servile—surpasses his traditional toady role and evolves to become a suitable foil to feisty Marian. Spooner (Hunted, 2017, etc.) grounds Marian's adventures with rich historical details and offers a flawed, fervent heroine whose revolutionary desires and short-term schemes encounter brutal medieval realities like war, death, taxes, and the inherent chauvinism of chivalry. All characters are assumed white.Steeped in tradition but infused with feminism and political concerns, a Robin Hood for a new audience. (Historical fiction. 12-18)
Publishers Weekly
Spooner (Hunted) has crafted an action-packed retelling of the Robin Hood myth in which Maid Marian assumes the role of the heroic figure to protect the people of Nottingham. Marian is grief-stricken when she learns that her betrothed, Robin of Locksley, has been killed in the Crusades. But after she hears that her maid-s brother, Will Scarlet, is being sought as a fugitive, she sets out to save him, donning Robin-s distinctive cloak as a disguise. When rumors begin to spread that Robin has been sighted, Marian must find a way to keep her identity hidden from both her allies (including Little John) and brutal enemies, all while trying to protect Nottingham as she believes that Robin would have. Spooner writes thrilling, visceral action scenes, and her use of archaic language evokes the time period. But the novel-s true highlight is Spooner-s careful development of Marian-s character as she comes to terms with her grief. Though the romance is a sudden and late addition to the story, fans of retold classics will thoroughly enjoy Spooner-s latest. Ages 13-up. (Mar.)
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 7-12

Fans of Danielle Paige, Marissa Meyer, and Alex Flinn will devour New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner’s next fierce fairy tale-inspired story, which Illuminae author Amie Kaufman calls “a kick-ass, gender-flipped feminist retelling.”

Robin of Locksley is dead.

Maid Marian doesn’t know how she’ll go on, but the people of Locksley town, persecuted by the Sheriff of Nottingham, need a protector. And the dreadful Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff’s right hand, wishes to step into Robin’s shoes as Lord of Locksley and Marian’s fiancé.

Who is there to stop them?

Marian never meant to tread in Robin’s footsteps—never intended to stand as a beacon of hope to those awaiting his triumphant return. But with a sweep of his green cloak and the flash of her sword, Marian makes the choice to become her own hero: Robin Hood.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.