The Last
The Last

List Price:

School Discount

Discount Price:

Discount Price:

Discount Price:

Discount Price:


Series: Endling Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Hoping she's not alone, but fearing she may be the Endling--the last member of her species, the dairnes--Byx goes on a quest to discover if the legends of hidden packs of dairnes may be true.
Catalog Number: #160174
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Illustrator: Kostenko, Max,
Pages: 383 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-233552-9 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-1138-2
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-233552-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-1138-8
Dewey: Fic
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
Starred Review ALA Booklist (Thu Mar 01 00:00:00 CST 2018)
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Publishers Weekly
Word Count: 70,659
Reading Level: 5.0
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.0 / points: 11.0 / quiz: 195063 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:4.3 / points:16.0 / quiz:Q73513
Lexile: 690L
Guided Reading Level: Q

New York Times bestseller!

First Katherine Applegate thrilled readers with the action-packed Animorphs series. Then she stole our hearts with the award-winning The One and Only Ivan. Now she takes us on an unforgettable journey in this first book of an epic middle grade series!

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building upon the success of her critically acclaimed novels such as The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.