The Poet X
The Poet X

List Price:

$28.93
School Discount
Price:

$20.25
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$19.85
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.64
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.44
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.04
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
Catalog Number: #159861
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Hot Title Hot Title
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 368
Availability: Available
New Title: Yes
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-266280-5 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-1015-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-266280-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-1015-2
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017943585
Language: English
Reviewing Agencies:
Starred Review for Horn Book
Starred Review for Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review for Publishers Weekly
ALA Booklist
All Formats: Search
Reading Level: 7.0
Interest Level: 7-12
Reading Counts!: reading level:6.3 / points:10.0 / quiz:Q72794

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.