The Poet X
The Poet X

List Price:

$29.21
School Discount
Price:

$20.45
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$20.04
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$19.84
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$19.63
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$19.22
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
Catalog Number: #159861
Format: Perma-Bound Edition from Publisher's Hardcover
All Formats: Search
Common Core/STEAM: Common Core Common Core
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2018
Edition Date: 2018
Pages: 361 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-266280-5 Perma-Bound: 0-7804-1015-7
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-266280-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-7804-1015-2
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2017943585
Dimensions: 21 cm.
Language: English
Word Count: 33,017
Reading Level: 5.2
Interest Level: 7-12
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 5.2 / points: 5.0 / quiz: 195165 / grade: Upper Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:6.3 / points:10.0 / quiz:Q72794

A 2018 National Book Award Finalist!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

“Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

“An incredibly potent debut.” Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

“Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.