Wishing Day
Wishing Day

List Price:

$17.84
School Discount
Price:

$12.49
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$12.24
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$12.12
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$11.99
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$11.74

Series: Wishing Day Vol. 1   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Three sisters in the town of Willow Hill participate in a fabled tradition of making three wishes, and find out what they really want only after their wishes come true.
Catalog Number: #137868
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2017
Edition Date: 2017
Pages: 313 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-234207-X Perma-Bound: 0-605-96942-6
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-234207-2 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-96942-1
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2015038865
Dimensions: 20 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
According to local tradition, Wishing Day for Natasha comes three months and three nights after her thirteenth birthday. Under a full moon, she reluctantly, indecisively climbs the hill to the willow tree, presses her palm against the trunk, and silently makes three wishes. One is predictable, given that her mother disappeared seven years earlier. The second is frivolous, and the third is heartfelt. While two of the wishes come true within the narrative, readers can only hope that the third will be resolved before the planned trilogy is complete. Meanwhile, there's plenty to enjoy in Natasha's immediate story of family, friends, and the first stirrings of romance. Portraying characters in ways that make them immediately easy to differentiate and ultimately memorable, Myracle lets the reader decide whether magic is really coming into play. The touch of fantasy seems more believable because the story is so firmly grounded in realistic details of setting, character, and plot. Reminiscent of Wendy Mass' popular Willow Falls series, beginning with 11 Birthdays (2009), this novel will intrigue the same audience. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: A five-city tour, parenting outreach, promo giveaways, and more reiterate that this is Myracle's narrative sweet spot.
Kirkus Reviews
In sleepy Willow Hill, a girl's many wishes come true. That's what people say about wishes made on the third night of the third month after her 13th birthday. Seventh-grader Natasha Blok isn't quite sure she believes this, but after her magical wishing night she does make her first kiss happen. Will the other two come true as well? The oldest of three motherless girls fewer than three years apart in age, Natasha is the responsible one, but she has a secret side: she writes stories. She longs for someone to see all of her, to be "somebody's favorite." When she starts getting mysterious messages, she thinks maybe that wish is coming true—or maybe it's her "impossible wish": that her mother were still alive. Grounded firmly in present-day middle school life, this has just enough magic to be unsettling and keep readers engaged. Natasha and her sisters, pretty Darya and creative Ava, are clearly drawn, believable characters; all are white. Her encounters with the elderly, enigmatic Bird Lady are deliciously puzzling. The chronologically straightforward third-person narrative is organized into sections separated by other characters' revealing wishes and propelled by convincing dialogue. One of Natasha's seventh-grade successes is finally finishing a story; usually they are as unfinished as this one, first in a planned trilogy. Readers like her sisters will be eager to see where her story goes. (Fiction. 9-13)
School Library Journal
Gr 46 Thirteen-year-old Natasha is a responsible girl. The eldest in a family of girls, she is the one who has tried to keep things going since her mom left several years earlier. After moving in with their aunts, the girls kept going as well as could be expected. But now it is Natasha's Wishing Daythe third Wednesday after her 13th birthday. It's a town tradition for the girls to trudge up to the old willow tree on the hill, duck the canopy, and make three wishes. This is no fairy tale land; this is the real world. But unlike her sister Darya or her best friend, Molly, Natasha wants to believe in the magicthe magic that might make her life a little easier. After she makes her wishes, some things do seem to change, but are they because of the tree? Beyond a family or friendship story, issues of mental illness, homelessness, and what it means to be a girl are explored without tipping into the realm of overt message. Natasha's growing pains are real, and while the circumstances of her family make them more acute, the magical realism within the pages adds a lambent quality to the narrative. VERDICT This unique coming-of-age story with an ardent protagonist belongs in all middle grade collections. Stacy Dillon, LREI, New York City
Word Count: 88,630
Reading Level: 4.5
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.5 / points: 13.0 / quiz: 182403 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:3.3 / points:12.0 / quiz:Q69358
Lexile: 590L

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law. Now in paperback.

On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes.

The first wish is an impossible wish.

The second is a wish she can make come true herself.

And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart.

Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be… noticed.

So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined. 


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.