The Sword of Summer
The Sword of Summer

List Price:

$21.79
School Discount
Price:

$15.25
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$14.95
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$14.79
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$14.64
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$14.34
To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Magnus Chase, a homeless boy living in Boston, finds out he is the son of a Norse god.
Catalog Number: #135586
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Copyright Date: 2017
Edition Date: 2017
Pages: ix, 503 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 1-423-16337-0 Perma-Bound: 0-605-96319-3
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-1-423-16337-4 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-96319-1
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2015018467
Dimensions: 20 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Magnus Chase is dead. Literally. To be honest, it's kind of an improvement; he's been living on the streets since his mother was brutally killed, and now, after a brief confrontation with one seriously creepy dude, 16-year-old Magnus finds himself deceased, spirited away by a Valkyrie to Valhalla with a host of people who have died heroic deaths. But even though his father was apparently a Norse god, Magnus still may not really belong. Worse, the apocalypse, Viking-style, is looming, and Magnus must find a mysterious, magical sword. Though leaving Valhalla could spell trouble, he escapes into the Nine Worlds with a handful of weird friends to find that sword before the bad guys do. But trickster-god Loki is pulling strings, and it may not be clear who the bad guys really are. Riordan has once again created a reluctant hero who finds himself out of his depth. He stays fairly close to the spirit of the original myths, twisting them for extra comedic effect engers fans may hardly recognize this blustery, red-headed, TV-binge-watching Thor. There's appeal for new readers, but Percy Jackson fans will also undoubtedly snap this up, and there's even some overlap: Magnus' cousin is Annabeth Chase. Buy extra copies, and prepare for the siege. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Norse myths are in right now, and Riordan has the magic touch, a combination that makes the extensive marketing campaign seem almost redundant.
School Library Journal
Gr 5 Up Fans of Percy Jackson and "Kane Chronicles" (both, Disney-Hyperion) books will not be disappointed in Riordan's newest series, which is based on Norse mythology. Magnus Chase, 16, has been an orphan living on the streets of Boston for the past two years. Ever since the mysterious death of his mother, he has tried to stay ahead of anyone who might be looking for him. When his Uncle Randolph tracks him down and begins talking about his birthrightan ancient swordMagnus's world changes forever. But Randolph is not the only one searching for the sword. A Fire Giant destined to wield it as part of doomsday is hot on their trail. Dying and winding up at the Hotel Valhalla is only the beginning of this teen's (after)life. With an epic plot, engaging (and diverse) characters, and tons of wisecracking humor, Riordan's latest is a page-turner. Those new to the author's past series can jump right in; fans of his previous works will be happy to see clever nods and references to the other in-universe books. VERDICT Ravenous Riordan fans are likely to begin lining up for this on the publication date; be prepared for long holds lists on this one. Patrick Tierney, Dr. Martin Luther King Elementary School, Providence, RI
Voice of Youth Advocates
The master of reviving ancient mythologies has moved on to the Norse legends in this first outing of a planned trilogy. A smart aleck child of the Boston streets, Magnus Chase, on the day of his sixteenth birthday, discovers some pretty odd and amazing things about himself. He is the son of the Norse god of summerFreyand he is being pursued by Surt, a monster from the Norse version of hell. Within twenty-four hours he will find himself in Valhalla, the afterworld for honored warriors, having died in battle protecting innocent bystanders from Surt's destruction. There, he barely begins adapting to a bizarre (hilarious) afterlife when he discovers a route back to the real world, and perhaps a method to reunite with his deceased mother. Thus a long and winding trek through the various Norse worlds leads him and his elfin accomplices through one deadly task after another as he meets most of the gods and ultimately attempts to forestall Ragnarokthe apocalypse.This is a highly entertaining, tongue-in-cheek romp, though formulaic if readers have read the author's similar adolescent trips through other mythologies (see the Percy Jackson and Kane serials). Magnus is a witty and likeable teen who proves himself worthy of redemption. Aimed at a middle school audience, older readers will enjoy the tale and perhaps pick up some facts about the gods of Asgard. The novel expertly sets up for book two and will be adored by boys and girls alike.Kevin Beach.
Word Count: 118,701
Reading Level: 4.8
Interest Level: 4-7
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.8 / points: 18.0 / quiz: 177142 / grade: Middle Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:4.5 / points:27.0 / quiz:Q67208
Lexile: 630L

Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers.
One day, he's tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed.
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.