Friend or Foe
Friend or Foe

List Price:

$17.84
School Discount
Price:

$12.49
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$12.24
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$12.12
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$11.99
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$11.74

Series: The Gollywhopper Games Vol. 3   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Zane thinks about little but football until after his second concussion, when his parents say he must take a year off, so when he gets a chance to compete in the Gollywhopper Games he is excited about applying many of the skills that help him excel on the football field to a different kind of competition.
Catalog Number: #134892
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Publisher: HarperCollins
Copyright Date: 2016
Edition Date: 2016
Pages: 428 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-06-221129-3 Perma-Bound: 0-605-96220-0
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-06-221129-3 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-96220-0
Dewey: Fic
LCCN: 2014035850
Dimensions: 20 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Until eighth-grader Zane suffered two serious concussions, he had dreams of a pro football career. But when he finds himself in the running for the Gollywhopper Games, his depression lifts as he passes test after test to become a finalist on the televised competition. Feldman melds puzzles and brainteasers into a story with more serious substance than previous titles, as Zane learns how to accept loss, make friends, and use his talents and smarts to surprising effect. Although this title will be of most interest to series fans, Feldman's clever exposition catches readers up quickly, enabling this title to stand ably on its own.
School Library Journal
Gr 4&11;6&12; In this companion novel to the previous two "Gollywhopper Games" novels, football-loving Zane gets a concussion that takes him off the field. He suddenly finds himself competing in the Gollywhopper Games alongside a nerdy kid named Elijah. Polar opposites, their strengths complement one another and they become unlikely friends. Purchase where the previous installments fly off the shelves.
Reviewing Agencies: - Find Other Reviewed Titles
ALA Booklist
School Library Journal
Word Count: 64,179
Reading Level: 4.4
Interest Level: 5-9
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 4.4 / points: 9.0 / quiz: 176255 / grade: Middle Grades

This companion to the popular The Gollywhopper Games, a book named to twenty-six state award master lists, will appeal to fans of The Amazing Race, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library. Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, the third book in the Gollywhopper Games series offers readers plenty of action and fun and will appeal equally to boys and girls. Features black-and-white art by Newbery Honor author Victoria Jamieson.

Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He’d rather play football and is sure that he’s headed straight for the NFL. But after he gets his second concussion, his parents tell him, “No football for a year.” Instead, to his surprise, he gets a chance to compete in the Gollywhopper Games. Zane’s sense of strategy, his physical strength, and his competitive edge are all assets, and so is his ability to motivate his teammates and get them to work together. Zane becomes particularly close to Elijah, a young and scrawny genius who is friendly, awkward, and funny—Zane’s polar opposite. These two unlikely friends end up head-to-head in the final challenge, where Elijah’s quick thinking and Zane’s physical strength make it a tough fight. This is a fast-paced and interactive read for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society.


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.