Twice as Silly
Twice as Silly

List Price:

$15.63
School Discount
Price:

$10.94
Qty(25-99)
Discount Price:

$10.72
Qty(100-249)
Discount Price:

$10.61
Qty(250-499)
Discount Price:

$10.50
Qty(>500)
Discount Price:

$10.28

Series: Ling & Ting   

To purchase this item, you must first login or register for a new account.

Annotation: Identical twins Ling and Ting like to be silly, tell jokes, and laugh together.
Catalog Number: #108084
Format: Perma-Bound Edition
All Formats: Search
Special Formats: Chapter Book Chapter Book
Copyright Date: 2014
Edition Date: 2015
Pages: 43 pages
Availability: Available
ISBN: Publisher: 0-316-18403-9 Perma-Bound: 0-605-90113-9
ISBN 13: Publisher: 978-0-316-18403-8 Perma-Bound: 978-0-605-90113-1
Dewey: E
LCCN: 2013041479
Dimensions: 23 cm.
Language: English
Reviews:
ALA Booklist
Twins Ling and Ting star in six very short stories for beginning readers, who will be charmed by the girls' talent for silliness and by the enjoyable, episodic chapters. The first shows Ting planting a cupcake in the garden, watering it, and waiting in vain for more to grow. In another, Ling fools Ting with a wordplay joke. In the last, titled "Not a Silly Story," the girls pull from their recent experiences to write and illustrate the silliest tale of all. Clean lines, bold accent colors, and beautifully drawn characters make this a handsome addition to the well-crafted Ling & Ting series.
Horn Book
In the twins' third easy reader, six stories each conclude on a goofy note perfectly attuned to early readers' developing sense of wordplay (e.g, when Ling finds messy Ting covered with paint: "I said 'Paint everything'! I did not say 'Paint everyTING'!"). Bright borders surround each illustration, with straight-edged frames morphing into bubble-shapes for scenes that take place in the girls' imaginations.
School Library Journal Starred Review
PreS-Gr 1 Those irrepressible twins are back with more sweetly goofy antics in a third installment of the easy reader series. Six short chapters deliver on the title's promise; each episode unfolds with pitch-perfect comedic timing, ending with a chuckle-worthy (and decidedly silly) punch line. From forays into gardening (Will cupcakes grow if planted like seeds?) to musing about how high they can swing (Higher than a tree that goes into outer space!), the girls' lives are grounded in realistic childhood experiences, embellished with their creative imaginings. Lin helps emergent readers tell the difference through clever visual cues; the pretend and "what if" scenarios are distinguished by squiggly frames. As in the first two books, the gouache illustrations pop with vibrant color and texture. Lin's images help support the text, while extending the humor with subtle details in facial expressions and body language. Though each chapter can be enjoyed on its own, the various threads come together in the last chapter when the sisters co-create their own storya book within the book. Fans of Ling and Ting will be delighted to see a few nods to previous adventures, while new readers will want to get to know these funny sisters better. A winning addition to a delightfully fun series. Kiera Parrott , School Library Journal
Word Count: 1,094
Reading Level: 2.0
Interest Level: 1-4
Accelerated Reader: reading level: 2.0 / points: 0.5 / quiz: 170896 / grade: Lower Grades
Reading Counts!: reading level:2.2 / points:2.0 / quiz:Q65415
Lexile: 300L
Guided Reading Level: K
Fountas & Pinnell: K

Ling and Ting like to be silly in the fourth book in this irresistible early reader series.


The beloved twins from the Geisel Honor early reader series are back to share their favorite funny stories with beginning readers, now in paperback. This collection of six laugh-out-loud stories is sure to tickle the funny bone of fans and new readers alike. Kirkus writes about the series, "These twins make learning to read double the fun."


*Prices subject to change without notice and listed in US dollars.
Perma-Bound bindings are unconditionally guaranteed (excludes textbook rebinding).
Paperbacks are not guaranteed.
Please Note: All Digital Material Sales Final.